



Dave Kilminster is no stranger to progressive music fans. He is best known as the touring guitarist for Roger Waters on *The Wall* – Live tour and with Keith Emerson. Recently, Kilminster performed with Waters at the Hurricane Sandy relief concert, 12.12.12, which was broadcast worldwide. He also was named "Guitarist Magazine's Guitarist Of The Year" in 1991. Kilminster will be joining Roger Waters, the co-founder and lead songwriter of the legendary Pink Floyd, when "The Wall" returns to the U.K. and Ireland, with dates at London's Wembley Stadium and Dublin's Aviva Stadium in September 2013.

In 2007, the guitar virtuoso teamed up with his former Keith Emerson bandmates Anne Marie Helder (vocals), Phil Williams (bass) and Pete Riley (drums) to release his solo album. Cherry Red Records released the remixed and remastered version of the album in 2012, titled *Scarlet -The Director's Cut*.

When asked about the CD Kilminster said, "I guess the album *Scarlet -The Director's Cut* is just a reflection of all the wonderful music that I grew up listening to on the radio, along with some deeply personal lyrics. It also represents the first time that I've ever been let loose in a studio, so I was definitely like a kid in a candy store! Hence, trying a whole bunch of things I've never done before, like singing lead vocals, playing piano and even scoring for a string quartet."

Scarlet -The Director's Cut includes 10 tracks that highlight his abilities to carry a solo album and perform with the music industry elite. When listening to the album, you will notice that it ranges from progressive pop to progressive metal and jazz. The album features upbeat tunes, such as "Big Blue," "Liar Liar" and "Static," along with heartfelt ballads, such as "Chance," "Angel" and "Rain On Another Planet."

So, is this release one for hardcore headbangers? No, not unless they want to chill out at the beach or put it on for a romantic dinner, not that there is wrong with doing either of those things mind you. *Scarlet -The Director's Cut* is a beautiful piece of work, so if you are a true progressive fan, it is well worth the purchase.

Genre: Rock Band: David Kilminster – Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards Anne-Marie Helder – Vocals Pete Riley – Drums Phil Williams – Bass

Track Listing:

- 1. Silent Scream
- 2. Big Blue
- 3. Chance
- 4. Angel
- 5. Brightest Star
- 6. Static
- 7. Just Crazy
- 8. Liar, Liar
- 9. Rain... (On Another Planet)

10. Harkness

Label: Cherry Red Records

Web: www.davekilminster.com / www.facebook.com/davekilminster

Hardrock Haven rating: 8.5/10